summer

Last year we spent the summer building our home, right now though, not so much. Still at it of course but it’s done enough though that we can live in it and take a little breather ’cause this is what beckons 2 minutes from home.

It’s pretty sweet when you have friends who live on the bluff and with private beach access too. Sitting on the stairs eating lunch, this is why I live here.

And I’m reminded how much I do like a grilled hot dog, the easiest summer lunch. Yeah, I know they’re horrible, excerpts from Michael Pollan’s, ‘The Omnivore’s Dillemma’ race through my noggan and driving by that factory-like cattle farm on the way to the Salton Sea the other week was testimony to the fact, so gross. Anyway, I’m trying to feel a bit better about my hot dog eating experience here, buying decent dogs and everything in moderation, right? Uncured, no nitrates or nitrites added, beef raised with no added hormones, no antibiotics, vegetarian fed and we’re all supposed to feel better about this processed thing made of left over parts?? Forget it! and just smother it with grilled onions, mustard, relish and this Indian style ketchup that’s not really spicy at all, but good nonetheless and all on toasted challah bread, the only kind of bread I have around, open faced and ya don’t feel too bad about lunch. I’ll try to lay off on the guilt trips, happy summer folks!

2 Comments to “summer”

  1. Those dogs look crazy good. I have to source some uncured franks here in Wpg somewhere… I miss “your beach”. It’s my desktop photo on my PC at work.

Leave a Reply

