dim sum

Dim Sum at NYC’s Jing Fong on Elizabeth St. in Chinatown with my friend, Roslyn was a madhouse, it was sunday and I was expecting nothing less. We waited with 100 or so other people, Hong Kong style dim sum in a large banquet hall. It reminded me of my family’s weekend dim sum (we called it “yum sa”) brunches when I was a kid, with all my cousins squeezing around a 12 person round table watching for carts with our favorites.

This sunday we were seated with 3 Chinese guys, all of them young finance dudes living and working in Manhattan entertaining us with their banter, “I went to HARVARD, I work at GOLDMAN SACHS,” no, not really but that line did make everyone laugh. Thanks Roger!

My favorites, ginger tripe

and braised chicken feet, too bad the sticky rice with marinated pork wrapped in lotus leaves cart didn’t make it to our table, next time.

A dim sum palace with cheesy chandeliers and escalators too.

Leave a Reply

