blue ribbon

Flipping through the latest issue of San Diego magazine and surprise! Blue Ribbon Artisan Pizzeria in Encinitas was critic’s pick for best new restaurant. How awesome, a well deserved accolade as they dish up some great food.

With all that’s going on with the house renos I don’t get there as often as I’d like these days but at least once a week at home I make a quick bruschetta that’s inspired by Blue Ribbon’s Rustic Bread Bruschetta with Marinated Cherry Tomatoes, Basil and Saba. It’s so simple. I serve it with some fresh mozzarella along with a salad, you can’t go wrong.

Saba is rare, it’s more expensive, the sweetener of choice in Italy. It’s made from the same grapes as balsamic vinegar but it isn’t aged or fermented. The grapes are slowly cooked down on an open fire for 2 days, just long enough to caramelize the natural sugars. Like most people, I don’t have a bottle of saba in my kitchen pantry nor is it readily available at my local market so balsamic vinegar with a smidge of honey or agave nectar works. One day I’ll get my hands on a bottle, for now this’ll do. Try it.

Bruschetta with Marinated Cherry Tomatoes

a few slices of your favorite bread or baguette, toasted

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

7 cherry tomatoes, each one cut in half

a few fresh basil leaves,thinly sliced

a smidge of honey or agave nectar

a pinch of sea salt

fresh cracked black pepper to taste

3 Comments to “blue ribbon”

  1. will make this. I love Bruschetta!

  2. That looks delicious. I usually just make a salad out of it and leave out the bread, but that really does look so yummy.

Leave a Reply

