winning

This post has nothing to do with Charlie Sheen, far from it. Let me explain.

Winner, winner, chicken dinner!

This past week in the mail I received a signed copy of Gwyneth Paltrow‘s new cookbook, My Father’s Daughter. She’s been doing a bunch of press to promote it lately so there’s a lot of buzz, I’m sure you’ve heard. I certainly did and it was in my Amazon cart waiting to be purchased, that is until I won it for free. I won the  cookbook on Jessica Seinfeld‘s blog, Do It Delicious, a must check out for everyone who wants to whip up quick, healthy meals.

I entered the cookie contest and was one of the very first people to bake and post the cookies on her facebook page. Easy? well sort of. No access to a grinder or food processor that morning and I had to use a mortar and pestle to crush the raw almonds for Lalo’s cookie recipe. Anyways, it was well worth it, the cookies were perfect, exactly the way I like them, not too sweet with simple ingredients and a free cookbook too, bonus!

I’m flipping through the cookbook this morning and I like it, it’s heartfelt and touching, celebrating family and great food, what’s not to love? I don’t get the haters out there, so negative, a mixed bag of comments left on the Kitchn’s post about the cookbook are just plain old mean, geez, some people! Haters aside, I recommend and love it! Simple, tried and tested recipes that celebrate organic and seasonal ingredients that can be adapted kid friendly, vegan friendly, it tastes great and it’s good for you. It’s nice too that she stocks her kitchen pantry with the same things I do, makes testing out her recipes very convenient. Dilemma being, I look in my fridge and cupboards and see I have everything to make corn chowder, polenta, nicoise salad, chicken and dumplings, pasta and I want to make it all. I’ve tried many of the recipes she shares on her own site, Goop.com and have had good results so I’m confident the recipes in this cookbook will be great as well. The candid shots with her family are nice, makes me look forward to cooking in my new kitchen this summer. I’m especially loving the pics of a no makeup Gwyneth setting the table in her pretty embroidered Isabel Marant dress, feeding her son cookies. Hate? No way! ALL LOVE!

One Trackback to “winning”

Leave a Reply

