Japan

The city building inspector just came by to check on the progress on our house and after hearing the news in Japan late last night, boy did he have a lot to say about earthquake friendly building.

Watching the footage of the 8.9 earthquake in Japan and the devastating tsunami that followed, my first thoughts were of Akiko, the Masudos and the Kondos, my dear friends in Tokyo, luckily for them they were not near the Sendai region where it hit hardest. I have so many fond memories of Japan, how lucky am I to have once called Tokyo home. I now just watch in awe, their courage and determination, their strength and organization to rebuild their lives after unimaginable loss and uncertainty. Let’s help them get back on track, go to the Red Cross site and make a donation or buy a bunch of songs from iTunes “Songs for Japan” album, every bit helps.

My nectarine tree is going off, it’s like hanami here under the nectarine blossoms. A far cry from my old stomping ground, Inokashira Park in Tokyo, it’s still pretty though and every time I look out my door I’m reminded.

Leave a Reply

